Home > Cluster Networks > Software-Cluster



The regional network’s main area of expertise is business software. In other words, software for managing business processes within and between companies. The members of the Software-Cluster include the most important German software companies, such as SAP AG (Germany’s largest software company) and Software AG (the second largest). However, the cluster also includes numerous medium-sized companies, which are specialists and innovative leaders in their specific areas (for example, proALPHA, SEEBURGER AG, CAS Software AG). But that’s not all, as Germany’s leading computer science faculties at the universities in Darmstadt, Karlsruhe, Kaiserslautern and Saarbrücken have also been integrated into the cluster as well as leading research institutions, such as the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI) and the Research Center for Information Technology (FZI) in Karlsruhe. This bundling of software expertise (in the area of corporate software) within a specific region is one of a kind in the global software sector. Thanks to the Software-Cluster, Germany has become a technological leader for corporate software, and the objective of the partners within the Software-Cluster is to maintain and expand this position, in order to ensure further jobs can be created.

The Software-Cluster can thus be understood as a wider network of IT companies and research institutions. Science and industry develop strategies for the whole area and where possible, submit joint R&D applications and jointly carry out R&D projects. The aim of the collaborations within the network is the knowledge transfer between the partners as well as developing innovations in joint R+D projects.


The Management Board

The cluster management of the Software-Cluster is carried out jointly by the four regional networks IT FOR WORK e. V. (Darmstadt), Software Technology Initiative Kaiserslautern e. V. (Kaiserslautern), CyberForum e. V. (Karlsruhe) and the Competence Center for Computer Science Saarland (Saarbrücken). They act as contact units for companies and research institutions in the four regions of the Software-Cluster and share the tasks of cluster management with each other. More than 1,500 of the region's 11,000 software companies are represented in the Software-Cluster network via the four networks.


Members of the Strategy Board


 (1)         Companies

•             Large companies: SAP, SAG, CAS Software AG,

•             SMEs: UplinkIT GmbH, acoris AG, Scheer Group


(2)          Research institutions

•             TU Darmstadt

•             German Institute for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI)

•             Karlsruher Institute of Technology (KIT)

•             Fraunhofer IESE


(3) Regional IT networks

•             IT FOR WORK e.V., Darmstadt

•             CyberForum e.V., Karlsruhe

•             Software-Technologie Initiative Kaiserslautern e.V., Kaiserslautern

•             Competence Center Computer Science Saarland, Saarbrücken


Representatives: http://software-cluster.org/software-cluster/strategieboard


More information

Software-Cluster Website:http://software-cluster.org/en

What is the Software-Cluster?: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sxDIzFK1rl8

Software-Cluster on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/softwarecluster

Software-Cluster Internationalisation Strategy: http://software-cluster.org/en/projects/scike-en


International Projects

SCIKE Bahia: http://software-cluster.org/en/projects/scike-subproject-bahia

SCIKE Silicon Valley: http://software-cluster.org/en/projects/scike-subproject-silicon-valley

SCIKE Singapore: http://software-cluster.org/en/projects/scike-subproject-singapore

PERMIDES: http://software-cluster.org/en/project/permides


Point of contact

Software-Cluster | Cluster Speaker

Software-Cluster | International Office

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. H. Dieter Rombach

Fraunhofer IESE

Fraunhofer-Platz 1

67663 Kaiserslautern

T +49 631 6800-1000

F +49 631 6800-1099

Elisabeth Stemmler

TU Darmstadt | FB Informatik

Mornewegstraße 32

64293 Darmstadt

T +49 6151 16-25554

F +49 6151 16-20665